Odds and Ends

orthodox cathedral
orthodox cathedral (Photo credit: slideshow bob)

I wanted to make some notes here before they escaped me.  This is all minor stuff, but perhaps note worthy.

1) I was recently in another discussion with a different Protestant professor of patristics.  When asked about Protestant distinctives and his thoughts on Orthodoxy he made a curious defense of Sola Scriptura (I won’t bother to post it here) and then pointed me at Karl Barth’s discussion of the Reformed view of Scripture in chapter two of The Theology of the Reformed Confessions (http://books.google.com/books?id=KGup6Xl_lzAC&lpg=PP1&dq=barth%20reformed%20theology&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q&f=false), which thankfully I could read entirely online thanks to the preview shown on Google Books.  I’ve considered doing some “conversation” with Barth on his views, but why bother.  I didn’t find them particularly enlightening or convincing, but I can check it off my list.  Yes, I’ve read Barth’s discussion on the topic.  Moving on.

2)  I recently read another book on the issue of the primacy of the Pope, and how Orthodox and Roman Catholic might reconnect.  I thought the book was very good, and unlike my previous recommendation in this area you don’t have to read with a large grain of salt.  The book is called You Are Peter (http://www.amazon.com/You-Are-Peter-Orthodox-Reflection/dp/1565481895/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1341188415&sr=1-1&keywords=you+are+peter).  I still haven’t read Orthodoxy and the Roman Papacy: Ut Unum Sint and the Prospects of East-West Unity (http://www.amazon.com/Orthodoxy-Roman-Papacy-Prospects-East-West/dp/0268026076/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1341188445&sr=1-2&keywords=ut+unum+sint) due to the cost and other interests, but I’m sure it’s got good things to say to the subject of reunification.

3) My wife and I have been meeting with our parish priest to discuss any remaining issues we have prior to Chrismation.  We still haven’t made any commitments of scheduled anything, but this is one of the last steps.

Odds and Ends

3 thoughts on “Odds and Ends

  1. […] to separate… »See All Of This Item By Clicking Here!« ☆ ☆ ☆ 2) Odds and Endshttps://lettersonorthodoxy.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/odds-and-ends/By Mark on Sunday, Jul 1st 7:23 […]

  2. Dana Ames says:

    Mark,

    you might like “Church, Papacy and Schism” by P. Sherrard (if you read it, go for the 3rd edition – purple cover). It’s a small book but chock full of good stuff – talks about the theological reasoning *behind* the oft-cited big differences between the Catholic and Orthodox views. I think you’d really get a lot out of it.

    The little bit of Barth I have read did not do much for me, either 😉

    Dana
    in California

    1. Mark says:

      Thanks for the recommendation Dana. I looked around on Amazon with no luck in finding the 3rd edition. After a lot of googling (ISBN 978-960-7120-24-3) I was able to find a used copy, so for anyone else out there who is interested keep looking.

      Perhaps there are bits of Barth’s writing that would work better on those not already amenable to his views, but what I was pointed at certainly didn’t do anything to help me.

      Blessings on your journey…

Leave a Reply

