A quick update on the subject of icons

[To understand what this blog is, read this first.]

Get this book!

Today I just received a copy of Early Christian Attitudes toward Images by Fr. Dr. Steven Bigham, and man do I wish I would have had that in hand before writing my previous responses to the protestant professor.  That would’ve saved a lot of time.  I’m glad I did the research I did, but just from what I’ve read so far I can see that Dr. Bigham does a great job of taking this information and really going deep with it.  He does a very well rounded take on icons from all sides, archaeological, literary and theological that is way beyond anything I could do on a blog, even if I were qualified.  So, if you are interested in trying to understand icons as a non-Orthodox Christian, or to defend them (or even just to understand the issue better), you definitely need to get that book.  I have also had Imago Dei, by Dr. Jaroslav Pelikan recommended to me, but I haven’t read it personally.  I have many books by Dr. Pelikan and can recommend all the ones I have read, so I don’t doubt that he did a wonderful job on that subject as well, so you might check it out too.

A quick update on the subject of icons

3 thoughts on “A quick update on the subject of icons

  1. […] Pick it up!☦Nothing But Orthodoxy☦ var pulltime = 'Tue, 15 May 2012 22:13:28 +0000';1) A quick update on the subject of iconshttps://lettersonorthodoxy.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/a-quick-update-on-the-subject-of-icons/By Mark on […]

  2. I think I dropped that recommendation. One more that I think will really resonate with you is Jim Forrest’s Praying with Icons. The history alone is worth reflecting on.

Leave a Reply

